Sleepy day today. I had a yummy breakfast of porridge, sweetened with Chinese coconut candy which I dissolved in some boiling water before adding my oats. It honestly turned out very well! I like my porridge to have a little sweetness to it, and as I had run out of sugar, I thought I’d try to use the coconut candy instead. I’m tempted to make another bowl because it was so good! Mm…

coconut

Since breakfast, I’ve been trying to find some energy to go outside but it’s been a couple of hours and I feel like I’m in a daze. I read the news online, messaged some people back home, put on a load of washing, but the lovely weather outside has been beckoning me to go and enjoy the day. I want to go out but I’m not sure where I want to go and don’t really feel like jumping on and off the subway and fighting my way through crowds of people.

I had intended to make a trip to Ikea this weekend, but I know how tired I will be when I get back. I often have days like these. I believe my post from last Sunday was similar. I pushed myself to head out to a cafe and ended up having a nice little adventure. I don’t know if I can do that today. Even the thought of buying food doesn’t tempt me enough.

Earlier, I was imagining how I would feel if it were raining outside. I would be cosy and warm in my apartment and would have an excuse to stay indoors and read a book, with my feet snugly wrapped up in a blanket. I would rather like it to be raining, as I wouldn’t be guilt-tripping myself as I am now, for being so lazy when the weather is so perfect outside.

Others can’t stand being couped up inside, and have to move, go for a walk and achieve something in their day. I don’t feel that need very often. I’m quite happy just being in my own company, reading, writing and letting my mind do what it is good at – thinking about things, over and over again. I catch myself staring into space sometimes. I imagine how I must look like a crazy person, but then I think that most people probably do the same when they are alone and immersed in deep thoughts.

I sit here, looking outside my window, feeling the time pass by and seeing the daylight transform into dusk. It will be a work day tomorrow. I must do something, but what?

Leave a Reply

